top of page

The Elephant House - The Birth Place of Harry Potter

For those of you who don't know, The Elephant House is a Café in Edinburgh and a huge tourist attraction for Harry Potter fans. This is because J.K. Rowling used to spend her time in the back room overlooking the Edinburgh Castle while writing much of her early Harry Potter novels. Fans from all over the country visit this café to leave a message on the toilet walls. You can find thank you notes for J.K. Rowling talking about how these books have changed peoples lives, favourite quotes from the books, witty remarks, and the famous 'I was here'. But if you're anything like me and feel totally overwhelmed by the positive atmosphere of your fandom because you finally found your people! ... you may just end up writing 'I LOVE SIRIUS BLACK' in every crack of space available ... not one of my finest moments I'll admit, especially since I forgot to take a picture of it, or even write my name next to it! Hopefully if I ever visit again sometime in the far future, I'll be better prepared with a message in mind. Maybe I'll even find my old message! Maybe you'll find it! It's written on first left wall when you walk in near the bottom in the middle written in red... good luck!

Ahhh... if only Moaning Myrtle was here, she'd love the company!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page